Nyasha Carter available

Nyasha Carter

Technical writer with a background in human factors/ergonomics research.

available
Profileimage by Nyasha Carter Technical writer with a background in human factors/ergonomics research. from
  • Freelancer in
  • Graduation: M.Sc. Industrial Engineering; B.Sc. Mechanical Engineering
  • Hourly-/Daily rates:
  • Languages: English (Limited professional)
  • Last update: 04.01.2021
KEYWORDS
PROFILE PICTURE
Profileimage by Nyasha Carter Technical writer with a background in human factors/ergonomics research. from
ATTACHMENTS
CV - Nyasha Carter

You need an account to view this information.

SKILLS
I am an entry-level applicant seeking full-time employment as a human factors engineer, health and safety engineer, industrial or mechanical engineer, a researcher, or a technical writer/grammatical editor.
I have experience in providing customer service, technical writing, conducting simulation studies, human factors research, and am familiar with Agile project management and Scrum processes from graduate-level coursework. I am familiar with Python, Tableau Desktop & Tableau Prep and SQL, and am learning AutoCAD as a recreational pursuit. Additionally, I am in the process of obtaining my engineer-in-training certificate via the Fundamentals of Engineering exam, and I plan to obtain a certificate in First Aid/CPR training from the Red Cross by the end of January 2021. During my graduate education in the industrial engineering department of West Virginia University, I was trained in electromyography (EMG) use for applications in later ergonomics research. Furthermore, I have an affinity for document editing and proofreading; during my graduate education, the graduate advisor for the industrial engineering department called on me to proofread research manuscripts of master’s and Ph.D. students, in addition to his external research proposals for federal funding. I was able to proofread 19 manuscripts and provide comments for clarification as well as consistency. My score in the GRE Analytical Writing section being in the 95th percentile further exemplifies my capabilities.
In the past, I have obtained my Bachelor of Science in mechanical engineering from the University of Maryland, College Park. While my area of interest was in finite element analysis upon my graduation, my job search was unfruitful. I returned to graduate school shortly after receiving my undergraduate degree, in an attempt to diversify my skillset and develop more networking opportunities. My graduate-level education yielded an improved transcript as well as a specialization in human factors research. Consequently, I obtained my Master of Science in industrial engineering from West Virginia University, with a focus in human factors and ergonomics research.
From June of 2019 to December of 2020, I served as an engineering intern for the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, a sub-division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. This internship has been the culmination of my experience in the engineering field thus far. My duties specialized in technical writing and research, where I developed a literature review from simulator studies on mental workload of drivers when using automated vehicles. As a result, I have experience with database searches of professional journals, writing in APA format, writing in MLA format, cognitive engineering research, and use as well as proper storage of electroencephalography (EEG) equipment. Under earlier employment, I worked as a sales representative for a regional bookseller, later serving as the customer service liaison for external booksellers and consumers. I oversaw consignment of warehoused books and registration of customer accounts, attended to customer concerns via email and communicated with external customer service representatives regarding swift transit of goods.
I would want to find a career in the state of Maryland and in the surrounding states of Virginia, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Delaware if possible. While I would want to start a career in my home state of Maryland due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic and my proximity to immunocompromised individuals, I would be amenable to relocation given a job opportunity and advance notice.
PROJECT HISTORY
  • 06/2019 - 12/2020

    • NATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH (NIOSH)
  • ENGINEERING INTERN | REMOTE RESEARCHER AND TECHNICAL WRITER
  • Remotely collaborated with Principal Investigator (PI) in anticipation of upcoming 2022 research project aimed at
    studying driver fatigue, behavior, and heavy truck automation. Core responsibilities included:
    * Corresponding with PI, developing understanding of project requirements and scope, and regularly
    communicating research findings and updates
    * Searching for and gathering relevant supporting studies in various databases on topics including driver
    situational awareness and takeover behavior
    * Employing Microsoft Excel to record study metrics including authors, participants, and study results
    * Studying, operating, and maintaining electro-encephalography (EEG) equipment to evaluate driver cognition
    * Drafting, reviewing, and editing documentation including literature reviews, EEG study findings, and study
    questionnaires

  • 06/2017 - 08/2018

    • BOOKHOLDERS
  • ADMINISTRATIVE PROFESSIONAL
  • Provided general administrative and client-facing support to aid the day-to-day operations of a book retailer.

  • 01/2017 - 09/2017

    • WYZANT
  • TUTOR
  • Provided one-on-one instruction and guidance to undergraduate students in essay writing, calculus, SAT areas including
    writing, mathematics, and critical reading.

OTHER
I am currently searching for short-term proofreading opportunities.
GET IN TOUCH

Message:

Sender: